Skip to content

School Ground Planning & Design

Want to make your school grounds greener? We can help with guides, workshops, and a national network of design consultants.

Green school grounds are inspired by the natural world, incorporating elements such as trees, rocks and shade to create a diverse landscape for children to explore. When combined with movable features—or with something as simple as sticks and shovels—they can bring out a child’s inner builder, architect and adventurer.

If you would like to make your local school grounds greener, we can help with step-by-step guides, workshops and a national network of School Ground Greening & Design Consultants. Our design process begins at the community level, so the end result is meaningful and practical for those who use it most. We make sure that every project is sustainable, and will provide children with year-round opportunities for experimentation and creative play.

Ready to start?

1. Develop a school ground greening plan

These publications will provide you with the tools you need to organize a successful school-ground greening project.

2. Put your plan into action

Get in touch with the School Ground Greening & Design Consultant assigned to your region or school board, district or division, who will work with you to support the design and implementation of your greening project.

Evergreen School Ground Greening & Design Consultants

See consultants in

Halton Region

Robert Cram
Halton District School Board
rcram@evergreen.ca

Nova Scotia

Rhea Mahar
Nova Scotia Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
rmahar@evergreen.ca

Ottawa

Andrew Harvey
Ottawa Catholic School Board
Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est
aharvey@evergreen.ca

Jeff Kaster
Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
jkaster@evergreen.ca

Toronto

Gail Bornstein
Toronto District School Board
gbornstein@evergreen.ca

Daniel Johnson
Toronto District School Board
djohnson@evergreen.ca

Jenn Vetter
Toronto District School Board
jvetter@evergreen.ca

Karen Dobrucki
Toronto Catholic District School Board
kdobrucki@evergreen.ca

Winnipeg

Wendy Simonson
Winnipeg School Division
Seven Oaks School Division
wsimonson@evergreen.ca

York Region

Robert Cram
York Region District School Board
York Catholic District School Board
rcram@evergreen.ca

*Certain school boards have specific processes for arranging site visits. Please contact your school district facilities representative to learn your school district’s process, or contact Evergreen at grants@evergreen.ca.

Not in one of the regions listed? Contact us for information about greening your school ground.