Skip to content

Celebrating Canada’s Top City Builders

Evergreen announces the 2016 Evergreen City Builders Awards winners
Top image caption: Evergreen City Builder Awards Winners.

Published on September 12, 2016

2016: Celebrating 25 years of Evergreen city building

For 25 years, Evergreen has been helping Canadians transform public landscapes into thriving community spaces with environmental, social and economic benefits. At the core of our work is the belief that involving people directly in the process of restoring the health of local ecologies and their communities positively affects the attitudes and behaviours that lie at the core of the sustainable city. 2016 marks Evergreen's 25th anniversary and this significant milestone offers a great moment to celebrate great Canadian acts of city building from coast to coast. 

Celebrating Canada’s courageous city builders  

The Evergreen City Builders Awards celebrates change makers across Canada who are making our cities flourish by connecting people + natural + built worlds. Judges selected winners based on their dedication to building sustainable cities, their involvement in—and contributing to—their community, and how they inspire their fellow community members. Here’s more about each award and the winners.

The CRH Urban Innovators Award

The CRH Urban Innovators Award celebrates passionate city builders! This award recognizes an individual who is working at a city-sized scale to change systems and influence urban infrastructure in one or more of the following areas: housing; transportation; public space; technology and innovation. A disrupter either from the boardroom, community hub or city/town hall, an Urban Innovator Award nominee has triggered policy or governance change in support of building a flourishing city.

Learn more about the winner Tonya Surman.

Congratulations to the following finalists:

Luke Anderson
John Cartwright
Tanya Hill
Lisa Kates
Janet McKay
Dave Meslin
Zahrah Munas
Sheila Murray
Jode Roberts
Graeme Stewart-Robertson

Thank you to the judges in this category:
Matthew Blackett, President of Spacing Media Inc.
Geoff Cape, Evergreen Founder and CEO  
John Pontarollo, Senior Vice President, CRH Canada Group Inc.


The TD Future City Builders Award

The TD Future City Builders Award celebrates dynamic youth (age 18 and under) who have taken action to instigate change in their community. This award recognizes a young Canadian who is making her/his park, school, community hubs or other public space into a better place by leading change through action and collaboration. The changes that this young leader is inspiring are created through participatory and democratic processes that take into account social, environmental and economic objectives. Inspiring young Canadians from coast to coast are leading the way and now is the time to recognize and celebrate their innovation and leadership. 

Learn more about the 2016 TD Future City Builders Award winner Stella Bowles.

Congratulations to the following finalists:
Quratulain Dar
Jasmine de Pencier and Jett Jardeleeza Toole
Daisy Goggs
Daniel Robinson
Edward Tian
Lisa Wang

Thank you to the judges in this category:
Gill Deacon, CBC Radio host of Here and Now and Canada Reads
Robert Plitt, Evergreen senior executive 
Carolyn Scotchmer, ‎Regional Manager, TD Friends of the Environment Foundation at TD Bank Group


The Toyota Playground Placemaker Award

The Toyota Playground Placemaker Award recognizes outstanding innovation in the creation or activation of a Children’s Nature Playground. The nominee must demonstrate leadership in creating an innovative, natural outdoor environment for children and may do this in her or his capacity as a designer, educator, program director or learning grounds animator. This individual always puts the needs of children first and demonstrates a collaborative and participatory approach in her/his work.

Learn more about the winner Sandy Clee

Congratulations to the following finalists:
Amelia Cox
Karen Eilersen
Sharon Foster
Brandon Jarvis Boutin
Ian Marcuse
Carly Meissner
Yvonne Westerveld Cordoso

Thank you to the judges in this category:
Cam Collyer, Evergreen senior executive 
Cyril Dimitris, Vice President, Sales and Marketing, Toyota Canada Inc.
Sasha Emmons, Editor-in-Chief, Today’s Parent


More about the Evergreen City Builders Awards here.

More about Evergreen here and our 25th anniversary here.